MY DARLING

MY DARLING

A Play by Linnea Rose

 

ERIN stands on a precipice. She looks over the cliff, at the waves, the rocks, the sand.

ERIN

Every day is of the ocean. Of the tides. Of the waves. Of the sands.

It follows me as it crashes against the rocks of the cliff. They sing to me of all my dreams and desires as dusk turns to evening.

CHARLIE enters behind ERIN.

CHARLIE

My darling. I am here.

ERIN

Don’t go. (She turns to embrace CHARLIE.) I tried to keep you. I couldn’t keep you.

CHARLIE

I had to leave. I had work on the seas.

ERIN

We had a life here. We could find you work here.

CHARLIE

The children?

ERIN

Eight and eleven now. As healthy as ever.

Sean plays football every day. He practices hard. Grania has been a great help and loves to sing tunes around the house.

CHARLIE

Just as they should. The town?

ERIN

Same as always. Sinead and Connor said to say hello.

CHARLIE

Hello to them. Send them my love. And you?

ERIN

Lonely without you, but the children fill me with love and true joy. They remind me more and more of you each day.

CHARLIE

I am proud of them. Please tell them that.

ERIN

You tell them. Next time they see you.

CHARLIE

I must leave now. Now that the sea s calming and the night is growing darker.

ERIN

Not again. I cannot bare it.

CHARLIE

When I am gone, look to the sea. I will be there.

ERIN

You are my hero.

CHARLIE

And you are mine.

With this, CHARLIE exits the stage. ERIN is now alone again with only the sounds of the ocean.

ERIN

He was taken by the sea. By the tides. By the waves. By the sands.

The lights slowly dim into a warm amber glow combined with the coolness of the water.

END OF PLAY

 

Leave a Reply

