AGE OF EMERALDS’ WOMEN WARRIORS

AGE OF EMERALDS’ WOMEN WARRIORS

A Play by Linnea Rose

 

Lights up on LEILA. LEILA is holding a video game controller and is in an intense trance while playing her game. CONNOR enters and sits down next to her.

 

CONNOR

What are you playing?

 

LEILA

(Delayed) Huh?

 

CONNOR

What are you playing?

 

LEILA

Age of Emeralds.

 

CONNOR

Oh nice! How’s it going?

 

LEILA

Well, I am beating your sorry ass. I just became a Level 9 White Ork Defender.

 

CONNOR

What? No way?

 

LEILA

Oh hell yeah!

 

CONNOR

Are you sure you really should be playing this game?

 

LEILA

(Pauses her game to confront CONNOR) And what the fuck does that supposed to mean?

 

CONNOR

I mean, this game is intense. You have to battle creatures and men to the death.

 

LEILA

Not just men. There are women warriors too.

 

CONNOR

Yeah, but have you seen their stats to the male characters.

 

LEILA

No, but have you seen my stats compared to your’s? (Turning back to her game.)

 

CONNOR

Don’t you wanna play another game?

 

LEILA

No.

 

CONNOR

Not even Mario Party.

 

LEILA

With you? Hell no! You are the king of button mashing.

 

CONNOR

Not true.

 

LEILA

Yes you are, That’s why your character dies every time. IT’s the same when we play Soul Calibur or Mortal Kombat. You never know your character’s special move, let alone research your it. You pick the most beefcake looking male characters. You never play Kitana, but always encourage me to.

 

CONNOR

It’s those badass knife fans she uses.

 

LEILA

The Steel Fans? (In disbelief) Mhm…

 

CONNOR

For being 10,000 years old, she–

 

LEILA

Watch yourself!

 

Why do you know more about Kitana than any other–Wait. Don’t even answer that. Kitana is a leader. She is strong and powerful. She didn’t need to ever rely on her Steel Fans, her strength was enough for hand-to-hand combat.

 

CONNOR

I thought you picked her ‘cause of her body.

 

LEILA

Connor, she is a computer animated character in a video game. She is a character in a story. She is virtual. She does not exist in the real world.

 

CONNOR

Sure.

 

LEILA

That may be the reason why you encouraged me to choose her. I always thought it was because you appreciated her story and what she stood for as a strong, female character. Is that what you admire about me? My body?

 

CONNOR

Y–I mean no, no I definitely do not.

 

LEILA

Good.

 

CONNOR

You don’t oggle me? I am real. I exist in this world.

 

LEILA

Yes, you do. But no, I don’t.

 

CONNOR

Oh…

 

Well…

 

I lied…

 

I oggle you.

 

LEILA

Oh. I didn’t lie. I still do not oggle you.

 

Silence for a moment.

 

CONNOR

Are you sure you want to play this game? (Grabs controller out of LEILA’S hands. This messes up her game play.)

LEILA

Are you serious? I was just about to defeat the Wizards of the Dark Fortress. (LEILA saves her game. She removes her memory card and walks away.)

 

CONNOR moves in and puts his memory card in the system.

 

CONNOR

I knew all that would piss her off. My turn to play Mario.

 

END OF PLAY

 

Leave a Reply

