MY DARLING GRACE…

MY DARLING GRACE…

A Play by Linnea Rose

Lights up on JOE who is sitting on a bed or chair in a jail cell.

 

JOE

My Darling Grace,

This is just a little note to say I love you and to tell you that I did everything I could to arrange for us to meet and get married but that it was impossible. Except for that I have no regrets. We will meet soon. My other actions have been as right as I could see and make them and I cannot wish them undone. You at any rate will not misjudge them.

Give my love to my people and friends. Darling, darling child I wish we were together. Love me always as I love you. For the rest all you do will please me. I told a few people that I with you to have everything that belongs to me.

This is my last wish so please do see to it,

Love,

Joe

 

GRACE

Three years since the day we met.

 

JOE

Three years since the moment we fell in love.

 

GRACE

Who would have ever have guessed that I would marry my best friend?

I converted, like Muriel.

 

JOE

Your burning heart now spreads its wings in the wild beauty of your love.

 

GRACE

We set a date.

 

JOE

Sunday, 23 April, 1916.

 

GRACE

How were we to know that that weekend would turn out to be the biggest of your life?

 

JOE

Monday, 24 April 1916.

 

GRACE

We are not wed.

We were betrayed.

 

JOE

Damn MacNeill thought he knew what was best for Ireland.

The fight continued.

 

GRACE

Pearse proclaimed.

The GOP never saw it coming.

 

JOE

We brothers took arms.

 

GRACE

You were ill. You continued to fight.

 

JOE

I felt weak.

 

GRACE

You were strong to fight for Ireland.

 

Shouts or a crowd are heard.

 

JOE

Wednesday, 3 May, 1916

 

GRACE

Our wedding night.

 

JOE

Thursday, 4 May , 1916

 

GRACE

We say goodbye.

 

JOE

My Darling Grace…

 

Gunshots are heard.  Black out on everyone but GRACE.

 

GRACE

The fire…the smoke grew…your home. Gone.

 

JOE

My Darling Grace…
END OF PLAY

Leave a Reply

