THE SAND MANSION

THE SAND MANSION

A 10-Minute Play by Linnea Rose

 

Lights up on a boy SL in a “sandbox” packing sand in a bucket with a shovel. A young girl enters SL and circles the boy in the sandbox, stops, twerks her head and looks at him.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Can I join?

 

 (YOUNG STEVEN does not looking up at YOUNG CHARLOTTE.)

 

(YOUNG CHARLOTTE joins YOUNG STEVEN in the sandbox. She notices there is only one pale and one shovel.)

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Where are the shovels and pales?

 

(YOUNG STEVEN points to pails and shovels.)

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Where?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

(Aggravated, points to the pile of toys adjacent to the sandbox on SL.) There.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Thank you. (She reaches across YOUNG STEVEN for the toys. He does not like this.)

 

YOUNG STEVEN

Hey! What are you doing?

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

(Grabbing the toys she needs and sits back up.) What? (Oblivious to the fact that she had done anything wrong)

 

YOUNG STEVEN

You were in the way of my sand mansion.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Sand mansion?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

Yes. Sand mansion.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Not a sand castle?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

Nope. Not a sand castle. This is where I want to live one day. (He motions to his sand mansion)

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

You want to live in a sand mansion? (Giggles)

 

YOUNG STEVEN

No! I want to live in a mansion. A big mansion…with a pool…and a basketball court….and—

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Wow! That will be one cool house!

 

YOUNG STEVEN

(Defensive) Not a house! A mansion!

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

(Giving YOUNG STEVEN a weird look.) Okay. A mansion. (She is noticing STEVEN’s intense concentration and focus on his sand mansion.) You’re weird, dufus.

 

YOUNG STEVEN

(Pause) Thanks.

 

Black out on LC. Lights up on RC. Enter STEVEN, as an adult. He is dressed in a two-piece suit. He is on the phone and crosses DRC.

 

STEVEN

(On the phone)…No, Mr. Randall. Patrick should have faxed you the contracts on Wednesday…And you still have yet to receive them? …Alright. Let me get your fax number one more time. 6-1-7-4-3-7-1-1-5-6? …Alright. I will fax them to you myself first thing in the morning…Yes, Mr. Randall, it will be the first thing I do when I get to the office. Even before I pour my one of three daily cups of coffee…Yes, I am aware that’s a lot of coffee. My mother gives me the disapproving look whenever I refresh my cup…No I do not still live with my mother…Alright, call me once you read the documents over. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask….Yes. I promise to watch my caffeine intake…Alright, I will talk to you later Mr. Randall. Thank you. Have a good day, sir. (Hangs up the phone.) Note to self: never bring up my caffeine intake in front of Mormon clients. Alcohol consumption would be another one to leave off of that. I probably just shouldn’t talk to them about anything other than business.

 

An adult CHARLOTTE enters running across DRC next to STEVEN. She is dressed in dark jeans, a blouse and suit jacket.

 

CHARLOTTE

(Running) Stevia!

 

STEVEN

You would think after four years that nickname would get old. All because of how I take my coffee.

 

CHARLOTTE

Stevia!

 

STEVEN

Hey Char!

 

 

CHARLOTTE

What? You’re too lazy to say my whole name. It’s two syllables. How hard is that?

 

STEVEN

Give me a break. I am not that quick on my feet, much like some people. (Motions down to CHARLOTTE’s shoes.) How do you run in those?

 

CHARLOTTE

Do you have a strong desire to perform drag or be two inches taller?

 

STEVEN

No and no.

 

CHARLOTTE

Then you will never know.

 

STEVEN

Aw shucks!

 

CHARLOTTE

So how’s the architecture business this week?

 

STEVEN

Oh you know, people are buying properties and wanting us to build or expand them.

 

CHARLOTTE

Fascinating. That must be nice to be that one person to sell a family their dream home to raise a family and grow old together in.

 

STEVEN

I am one of ten at our firm.

 

CHARLOTTE

I was trying to make you feel special, dufus!

 

STEVEN

Dufus? Really? You haven’t called me that since we were seven.

 

CHARLOTTE

Well, somethings never change. Do they?

 

Blackout on STEVEN and CHARLOTTE. Lights up on YOUNG STEVEN and YOUNG CHARLOTTE in the sandbox.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Does your mom make dinner every night like mine does?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

No.

 

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Do you make dinner every night?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

Yes

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

What do you make?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

I usually put a hot dog in the microwave. My brother will cook us mac and cheese, you know, the ones with the funny shapes?

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Those are yummy. Does your mom watch you cook?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

No.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Lucky!

 

YOUNG STEVEN

(Shrugs) Not really.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Why’s that?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

I would like to do more things with her. But all she wants to do is sit around watching TV and drink these cans of soda that make her breath smell yucky. Booze. That’s what Hank calls it. I think he made it up. It’s a funny word.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

What’s booze?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

I don’t know. But it smells icky.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Yuck! (Sticks out tongue)

 

Blackout on SL. Lights up on SR on CHARLOTTE and STEVEN. The two clink bottles and toast.

 

CHARLOTTE

To the weekend!

 

STEVEN

To the weekend!

 

Both sip from their bottles.

CHARLOTTE

It’s funny because to those of us who work in a restaurant, that means absolutely nothing.

 

STEVEN

Oh come on! You won’t be working in a restaurant forever.

 

CHARLOTTE

Here’s hoping! (Takes a sip of her beverage) So have you talked to your mom recently?

 

STEVEN

(Takes a sip of his drink) Why would you ask me that now? Aren’t we supposed to be celebrating?

 

CHARLOTTE

Yes, but –

 

STEVEN

Then can you drop the question? Pretend like it’s your improv class exercise and take back your last reaction. But in this case, take back the last question.

 

CHARLOTTE

Fine.

 

STEVEN

Thank you.

 

Both take sips of their drinks.

 

CHARLOTTE

My mom says that she has checked herself into rehab again.

 

STEVEN

Char, really?

 

CHARLOTTE

I am sorry! You know I am not trying to encourage a relationship between the two of you. I just wondered if you cared.

 

STEVEN

Char, I am glad you still have a functioning relationship with both of your parents but please leave mine out of this.

 

CHARLOTTE

(Points to STEVEN’S neck) Found that nerve.

 

STEVEN

And you hit it perfectly.

 

CHARLOTTE

This is what I lack. This is why I am not getting any callbacks. This is why I don’t have an agent.

 

STEVEN

You don’t have an agent because you are lazy. Your lack of an agent has nothing to do with your home life.

 

CHARLOTTE

No. I mean depth. I have been experiencing my emotions for auditions vicariously through you and your trials and tribulations.

 

STEVEN

Thanks. You don’t make me feel like a sad sap at all.

 

CHARLOTTE

Thanks I try not to.

 

Black out on SR. Lights up on YOUNG STEVEN and YOUNG CHARLOTTE playing in the sandbox.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

How many rooms does your sand mansion have?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

Five. I want everyone to have their own. Sharing a room is not fun.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Why’s that?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

I sleep with my older brothers. We have three beds. But there’s no room to play.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

I sleep with my cat sometimes. She takes up a lot of room. (Pointing with a shovel in a direction in the house) Do you know Mr. Falstaff over there?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

Yes.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Do you think he’s a good teacher?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

(Shrugs) I don’t know.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

I think he’s mean. When we were singing he told me not to. It wasn’t very nice.

 

YOUNG STEVEN

That’s not nice.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

He doesn’t get a room in your sand mansion, right?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

No one can be mean in my sand mansion.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

So I can sing all I want there! (YOUNG STEVEN looks up from his construction to look at YOUNG CHARLOTTE) What? I am invited too, right?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

I guess I can expand it to make a 5th bedroom.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE smiles at YOUNG STEVEN. There is a blackout SL on them and lights up on CHARLOTTE and STEVEN entering from SR. There is an arm chair, a small coffee table and a lamp SR. They are positioned like a living room setting. STEVEN turns on the light as he enters.

 

CHARLOTTE

(Running on to the stage) Dibs on the armchair?

 

STEVEN

How about dibs on your bed?

 

CHARLOTTE

(Cuddling up in the arm chair) No. (Said like a baby.)

 

STEVEN

I don’t get you sometimes. (He drapes his jacket on the back of the armchair and begins to unload his pockets full of stuff: cellphone, wallet, pens, etc)

 

CHARLOTTE

Says the man unpacking his life from his pockets.

 

STEVEN

Huh?

 

CHARLOTTE

Everything you need and rely on during the day is right there in front of you.

 

STEVEN

And your point?

 

CHARLOTTE

I don’t know. Sometimes I wonder if you are truly happy.

 

STEVEN

Happy? Me? Of course I am. Why wouldn’t I be?

 

CHARLOTTE

Sometimes I feel you are hiding behind your gadgets and gizmos. You never once cared about little things like these. When was the last time your firm truly let you design something all on your own? I have not seen you at your drafting table in months. I believe it is gathering dust.

 

STEVEN

Haha! As a matter of fact I am working on the remodel of the Boys and Girls Club. This city is too historical to try to put up new buildings in most areas.

 

CHARLOTTE

Are you over-seeing the project?

 

STEVEN

No. Not exactly.

 

CHARLOTTE

And why is that?

 

STEVEN

Because Paul is more qualified.

 

CHARLOTTE

Paul? Paul who is having an affair with the boss’ daughter who is ten years his junior? That dingbat is more qualified than you? I find that hard to believe.

 

STEVEN

Well, he has been there longer –

 

CHARLOTTE

So what? Look at all your accomplishments compared to his.

 

STEVEN

Look at your accomplishments. You’ve been taking a “gap year” now for three years. Don’t you think it’s time to start getting back in the game?

 

CHARLOTTE

I just don’t know if I want to be an actress anymore. I have been debating going back to school for my Masters. Hence, why I have been working so much.

 

STEVEN

(Sitting down on arm of armchair or coffee table) Char, that is awesome! Why didn’t you tell me sooner?

 

CHARLOTTE

Because I know what you would have done or said and I wasn’t ready to hear it.

 

STEVEN

What that I would be proud of you and “congratulations”?

 

CHARLOTTE

Yes! Exactly that. I didn’t want to make you any empty promises. I wanted to make sure this is actually what I wanted. (Pulls out an envelope from the chair cushions) Well, here they are. One from BU and one from Harvard. They both want me. They never wanted me before but now they do. I can finally support myself throughout my education and it is one of the greatest feelings I have ever experienced.

 

STEVEN

Which school are you going to choose?

 

CHARLOTTE

I was hoping you could help me with one of your famous pros and cons lists.

 

STEVEN takes out a small notebook and pen from his pocket and begins to write. Blackout on SR and lights up on SL. A bell sounds. YOUNG CHARLOTTE looks up and around, YOUNG STEVEN does not even flinch.

                                                                                                                                   

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

There’s the bell. Recess is over. (YOUNG STEVEN still doesn’t move.) Hey! We have to go line-up.

 

YOUNG STEVEN

You go. I’ll catch up.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE starts to walk and then turns around and stops and looks back at YOUNG STEVEN.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Are we best friends?

 

YOUNG STEVEN

(Shrugs his shoulders) I guess.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE

(Kneels down and reaches out her hand to YOUNG STEVEN to shake) I am Charlotte.

 

YOUNG STEVEN

(Takes YOUNG CHARLOTTE’s hand and shakes it) I am Steven.

 

The two hold their handshake for 3 seconds after. Lights up on SR. CHARLOTTE is passed out in the armchair. Simultaneously, YOUNG CHARLOTTE and STEVEN stand up walk around their scene partner and both give them a kiss on the cheek.

 

CHARLOTTE/YOUNG CHARLOTTE

Steven?

 

STEVEN/YOUNG STEVEN

Yeah.

 

CHARLOTTE/YOUNG CHARLOTTE

I hope you find your sand mansion.

 

YOUNG CHARLOTTE exits. CHARLOTTE falls asleep. YOUNG STEVEN and STEVEN both look up and smile. Black out.

 

END OF PLAY

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

