VAMPIRES SLAIN

 

VAMPIRES SLAIN 

A Play by Linnea Rose

SHE stands. SHE sees her reflection in the mirror. SHE begins to hear voices.

VOICE #1

Who do you think you are?

VOICE #2

You put out for him, but not me?

VOICE #3

Can you please me more like your sister?

VOICE #1

Did you ever actually think we would let you hang out with us?

VOICE #2

You are the campus bicycle. Everyone’s had a ride…but me.

VOICE #3

Apply yourself. Do something with your talent.

SHE picks up a pair of scissors and raises them to her hair as if to cut it.

SHE

Everyone has an opinion about it. Everyone thinks their opinions matter.

(Pause)

Why?

The privilege people assume they have over your life and choices is incredible. They walk around you like a vulture, judging you with their eyes, noise, ears, hands and even with their mouths. Those who take on your life as a project to reform and reshape into something they expect of you have another thing coming.

VOICE #1

You think just because you dress like us and act like us, that you can actually be one of us?

VOICE #2

Tell me: are you going to fuck the entire freshmen class as well?

VOICE #3

Get a job. Get a different job. Get a better job.

SHE

They never stop. They keep swarming around like fruit flies to fresh fruit left out on the kitchen counter. Go away! Why won’t you ever go away? For a minute. For a second. Some quiet would be nice.

(Pause)

Being the new student is never easy. They made my transition a hellish nightmare. They ruined my life. Any chance of a reputation I had, they took pleasure in staining it.

(Pause)

He told me he loved me. He told me he wasn’t like any other man. He was wrong. He lied. He hurt me. He hurts everyone.

(Pause)

Change. “Change can be a good thing”, whether it is wanted or not. Change is unwelcome in my life. I want to be me. They do not want me to be me.

(Voices start to bother SHE again. SHE cuts them off.)

STOP! Enough. Uncle. I am done. I cannot and will not succumb to your wants and needs for my life. These are my choices. You had your chance. This is my turn.

(SHE begins to shrink down onto the ground, scissors still in hand.)

My life. My choices.

(Pause)

If I fuck up, it’s my fault. No one else’s.

(Pause)

I do not want to be friends with them.

(Pause)

I do not want to fuck him.

(Pause)

I do not want to please her.

 

END SCENE

Leave a Reply

