THE TEMPTRESS AND THE FORBIDDEN FRUIT: THE STORY OF GENESIS 2:4-3:24

THE TEMPTRESS AND THE FORBIDDEN FRUIT: THE STORY OF GENESIS 2:4-3:24

By Linnea Rose

In blackout, ADAM and EVE’s voices are overheard.

ADAM

This is the account of the heavens and the earth when they were created, when the Lord God made the earth and heavens.

EVE

Now no shrub had yet appeared on the earth and no plant had yet sprung up, for the Lord God had not sent rain on the earth and there was no one to work the ground, but streams came up from the earth and watered the whole surface of the ground.

Lights up on an empty stage.

ADAM

(Enters USR, faces DS) Man.

EVE

(Enters URL, DS) Woman.

ADAM

(Turns to face EVE) From the dust of the ground.

EVE

(Turns to face ADAM) From the rib of man.

ADAM

(Lays down on stage) A garden was planted.

EVE

(Raises hands up, as if representing growth) A tree was planted.

ADAM

(Excited, pointing towards and running DSL) Pishon!

EVE

(Excited, pointing and running DSR) Gihon!

ADAM

(Excited, pointing and running DSR) Tigris!

EVE

(Excited, pointing and running DSL) Euphrates!

ADAM

 Man…

EVE

…and women…

BOTH

(Spoken together) …were warned. (ADAM, EVE look up and look around when they hear GOD speak.)

GOD

(Voice off-stage) You are free to eat from any tree in the garden; but you must not eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, for when you eat from it you will certainly die.

ADAM

Although there was beauty in the garden…

EVE

…danger lurked.

Enter THE TEMPTRESS slithering across the stage from USL, not touching the ground.

THE TEMPTRESS

Did God really say, ‘you must not eat from any tree in the garden?

EVE

(To THE TEMPTRESS) We may eat fruit from the trees in the garden, but God did say, “You must not eat fruit from the tree that is in the middle of the garden, and you must not touch it, or you will die.

THE TEMPTRESS

You will not certainly die! For God knows that when you eat from it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.

ADAM holds out apple in hand. EVE take apple from ADAM’s hand and bites into it.

EVE

Woman was weak. (Holds out apple to ADAM and gestures for him t take a bite.)

ADAM

Man was weak. (Takes apple from EVE and bites into it.)

A loud BOOM is heard.

EVE

God is angry.

GOD

(Voice off-stage, to ADAM) Where are you?

ADAM

(To GOD) I heard you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid.

GOD

(Voice off-stage) Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree that I commanded you not to eat from?

ADAM

The woman you put here with me—she gave me some fruit from the tree, and I ate it.

GOD

(To EVE) What is this you have done?

EVE

(To GOD) The serpent deceived me, and I ate.

GOD

(To THE TEMPTRESS)

Because you have done this, Cursed are you above all livestock and all wild animals! You will crawl on your belly and you will eat dust all the days of your life. And I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will crush[j] your head, and you will strike his heel.

(To EVE) I will make your pains in childbearing very severe; with painful labor you will give birth to children. Your desire will be for your husband, and he will rule over you.

(To ADAM) Because you listened to your wife and ate fruit from the tree about which I commanded you, “You must not eat from it.” Cursed is the ground because of you; through painful toil you will eat food from it all the days of your life. It will produce thorns and thistles for you, and you will eat the plants of the field. By the sweat of your brow you will eat your food until you return to the ground, since from it you were taken; for dust you are and to dust you will return.

ADAM

Woman was to be called Eve.

GOD

The man has now become like one of us, knowing good and evil. He must not be allowed to reach out his hand and take also from the tree of life and eat, and live forever.

THE TEMPTRESS

(Now lowered to touch the stage.) Because I have done this, Cursed am I above all livestock and all wild animals! I will crawl on my belly and I will eat dust all the days of my life. And God will put enmity between me and the woman, and between my offspring and hers; he will crush my head, and I will strike his heel.

EVE

God will make my pains in childbearing very severe; with painful labor I will give birth to children. My desire will be for my husband, and he will rule over me.

ADAM

Because I listened to my wife and ate fruit from the tree about which God commanded me, “You must not eat from it.” Cursed is the ground because of me; through painful toil I will eat food from it all the days of my life. It will produce thorns and thistles for me, and I will eat the plants of the field. By the sweat of my brow I will eat my food until I return to the ground, since from it I was taken; for dust I am and to dust I will return.

ADAM, EVE, THE TEMPTRESS begin to come DS from where they are standing. The nest lines are said almost in a round, overlapping one another. On each line, they each take a step closer DS.

THE TEMPTRESS

Eat dust.

EVE

Labor pains.

ADAM

Painful toil.

THE TEMPTRESS

Strike his heel.

EVE

Rule over me.

ADAM

Dust I will return.

THE TEMPTRESS

Banishment.

EVE

Exile.

ADAM

Forbidden

THE TEMPTRESS

You are free to eat from any tree in the garden; but you must not eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, for when you eat from it you will certainly die.

Lights to fade. Blackout.

 

END OF PLAY

Leave a Reply

