THE PERFECT CREAMER: A One-Minute Play by Linnea Rose

THE PERFECT CREAMER

A One-Minute Play by Linnea Rose

Lights up on a couple at a “grocery store”. This is TAYLOR and ALEX. ALEX and TAYLOR are both in their mid to late 20s. It is evident they have been in some form of relationship for some time. Generic pop music can be heard in the background. The two approach the “dairy fridge” and explore their options.

ALEX

Ooo, look! $3.49.

TAYLOR

(Pointing to a different item) But that one is $3.39.

ALEX

So?

TAYLOR

So, we would be saving an extra ten cents.

ALEX

Which brings me back to, “so?”

TAYLOR

I don’t want to spend that much. We are on a budget this month.

ALEX

We are on a budget every month, It is called your frugality. Quite frankly, it is mildly off-putting.

TAYLOR

I don’t see the problem with that.

ALEX

The problem is, is that I want to spend the extra ten cents for the better creamer, the creamer I really like, and you don’t.

TAYLOR

What is wrong with that?

ALEX

I want to spend more. (Both italicized words are emphasized, but each in a different way.)

TAYLOR

I’m not getting [it]–

ALEX

(Cutting TAYLOR off) I want the better one. (Both italicized words are emphasized, but each in a different way.)

TAYLOR

I don’t [understand]–

ALEX

(Cutting TAYLOR off) I want better.

TAYLOR

Fine…

ALEX

I deserve better.

TAYLOR

Fine. (Thinking this disagreement is finally over.) We will get the more expensive one.

ALEX

(Scoffs and walks away. Returning to TAYLOR) I don’t want this [anymore] (Puts creamer back on shelf.)

Black out.

END OF PLAY

Leave a Reply

