QUEEN-SIZE FOR ONE: A One-Minute Play by Linnea Rose

QUEEN-SIZE FOR ONE

A One-Minute Play by Linnea Rose

Lights up on a couple in their bedroom, well…one is laying in bed and the other is standing. The one standing is DISAPPOINTMENT. The one in bed is DISHONEST. They are identified by their emotions not conformed to any gender.

DISAPPOINTMENT

I’m not doing it.

DISHONEST 

Babe, I told you, nothing happened.

DISAPPOINTMENT 

No, this is not happening.

DISHONEST 

(Pats bed in a spot beside them, as if to say “come lay beside me”) Still warm.

DISAPPOINTMENT 

Nuh uh!

DISHONEST 

We can watch every episode of that awful show you love.

DISAPPOINTMENT 

You hate that show. You claim that it has no value to add to society.

DISHONEST 

Hun, please. You are making a bigger deal of this than you have to.

DISAPPOINTMENT 

Don’t you tell me that. I am disappointed.

DISHONEST 

In me?

DISAPPOINTMENT 

In myself.

DISHONEST 

Ouch! So, me?

DISAPPOINTMENT 

No!

Alright…If you promise nothing happened, then I will do it. Look me in the eyes and tell me

DISHONEST

 (Sincere.) Nothing happened.

DISAPPOINTMENT

Alright. (Takes a pause and then crawls into bed under the covers. Sits for a moment trying to get comfortable, but knows something is not right. They continue to struggle. After a moment, they have a moment of epiphany moment and jump out of bed.)

(Pointing to bed) They were here!

Beat.

Black out.

END OF PLAY

Leave a Reply

